Marcus Estate Press Release

The Marcus name has been famous throughout the world since their doors were first opened in Dallas in 1907. The company was founded by Herbert Marcus, his sister, Carrie Marcus Neiman, and his brother-in-law, A.L. Neiman. Marcus and the Neiman’s grounded the company in the foundation of outstanding customer service and selling unparalleled high quality merchandise. Through these solid beginnings, Neiman Marcus has established a company with a unique approach to retailing and a lively, well-respected brand.

As the name of Neiman Marcus is impressive and high-quality, so is the exquisite Herbert Marcus estate, located on Westlake Avenue. The house was built in 1927 for Herbert Marcus Sr., father of Stanley Marcus, and Marcus’ widow, Minnie Lichtensein Marcus lived in the house until her death in 1979. Throughout the years, especially in the 1930s, the Marcuses hosted many notable fashion and business figures in their home, including guests such as Vogue editor Edna Woolman Chase, Carmel Snow, Harper’s Bazaar editor, and Elizabeth Arden. The spectacular estate sits on 2.15 acres of beautifully landscaped land, complete with fresh water brook, updated saltwater pool, and cabana. The restored Tudor has an equally impressive interior, with refurbished stained glass, vaulted ceilings, and sweeping staircase. This fabulous property is nestled in the heart of Lakewood, providing a secluded, private getaway.

Listed in April, 2012, this beautiful house has now been passed on to the lucky new owner of the famous Herbert Marcus estate. Working together, agents from Scott Carlson Real Estate, Inc. and Lauren Valek of Coldwell Banker have made another great transfer of a beautiful house!

Comments are closed.